Let Me Explain My Google Search History…

Standard

I’m doing some googling this morning that seems morbid and thinking how my search terms may look to someone who doesn’t know what all is going on here. 😂

Our rabbits are due to kindle any day now. Which means that it’s not long til I’m going to have to kill a lot of young rabbits. I am determined to do this in the most humane way possible.
Knocking them out leaves too much room for operator error, especially someone as clumsy as me.
Cervical dislocation is touted as the most foolproof humane way, but knowing that decapitated heads have been observed showing expressions of terror or grief, to glance back at their bodies, and to focus on the face of someone who called their name has me convinced that it is not true death, but merely a loss of all bodily control until death comes by lack of oxygen (which can take many minutes) or by lack of blood supply to the brain (possibly quicker but not enough).
Looks to me like destruction of the brain is the best way, at least it removes the possibility of consciousness/suffering. I’ve personally seen it done with an air rifle to the back of the head, and that’s the method we have planned. Now that it’s getting closer to actually happening, I’m wondering if I shouldn’t invest in a shotgun to really be sure…
One of the reasons I’m so excited to be raising our own meat (why we’re not just vegetarian or vegan is another post, another day) is so that I can be sure that the animals have been treated humanely, respectfully, and ethically. That is the very least we can do for that which sustains our lives.
What do you think? Will the air rifle be enough or shall I go shotgun shopping?

Leave a Reply

